MMXX release their debut single 'This Breath Is Not My Breath'

MMXX is a new doom metal project by three acclaimed musicians with nearly two decades of experience in the metal industry: Andrea Chiodetti (ex-The Foreshadowing), Jesse Haff (ex-Gökböri, Daylight Dies, ex-The Chariot), and Egan O'Rourke (Daylight Dies, ex-The Chariot). 

The band has recently released their debut single “This Breath Is Not My Breath” which features vocalist Mikko Kotamäki (SWALLOE THE SUN). Listen below the lyric video for the single:

With their debut, they've created an immersive take on doom with strong melodic elements that showcase the talents of seasoned musicians who have shared stages worldwide with such acts as Katatonia and Moonsorrow.

As you'd expect from a band featuring members from many great bands, the album includes some impressive guest contributions from musicians like Dan Swanö (Edge of Sanity, Nightingale), Yann Ligner (Klone), Mick Moss (Antimatter, Sleeping Pulse), Aaron Stainthorpe (My Dying Bride), Carmelo Orlando (Novembre), Marco Benevento (The Foreshadowing), Chris Cannella (Autumns End), O'Rourke, and Kotamäki.

Doom has been a genre built on tipping the cap to everything that came before it, which is why MMXX seems like the perfect cross-section of atmospheric doom and classic death/doom. MMXX is not only mixing up their doom metal with death, but with occasional synth flourishes, which makes for a cool, multi-faceted approach that never comes off as pretentious or cutesy.